5JR crossover upgrades and questions

Options
All,

I’ve searched the threads as best I can. I’m looking for pictures on how to upgrade the crossovers on my 5JR’s. I’ve had them since 88, and they’ve been great all these years. A couple of months ago one of my tweeters stopped working. I’ve bought the items needed to upgrade. Specifically new RDO198’s, sonic caps 13UF and the resistors, I can solder and all that. Just not really sure where the new parts go. As they say, pictures are work a thousand words. I’m an newb for this.m0expa0y7g00.jpeg
g8ob7m4aiz0l.jpeg
4k89h10882gn.jpeg
yf6998pyg1lk.jpeg
nmcx0wfq6k7t.jpeg
ay92xsbsgvw3.jpeg

Comments

• msg
    msg Posts: 9,446
    Options
    Watching this thread since I have a pair of 5Jrs I'd like to upgrade as well.

Are 198s correct for the 5Jr? I thought the 194s were the uograde/replacement.
    I disabled signatures.
  • F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,799
    Options
    The tweeter would depend on which 5jr version he has.
    Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

• F1nut
    Options
    OP, you'll never fit all of that on the original board. One option is to mount the new components on a separate board and run leads to the original board. Another option is to make an entire new point to point wired crossover.

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

• 57cessna172
    Options
    Original tweeter is an sl2000. F1nut, have any links to accomplish what your suggesting?
    I’ve seen pics of different crossovers having the components being mounted on the back of the board.
  • F1nut