Polk SDA-SRS 1.2 and CS1000P

We have the above speakers. My wife is convinced they are sounding tired compared to some newer speakers we have. I am not a speaker expert. There is nothing visibly wrong with the speakers and I am not convinced its anything more than just the differences between the speakers design. Anyone have any comments on whether speakers get "tired", if they do is it the speakers themselves, the electronics in the speakers or both, is there anything a person can do about it in speakers of this age? They have been great speakers. If we replace them is there a market for these and does anyone have any thoughts on value. Thanks

Answers

• nooshinjohn
    nooshinjohn Posts: 25,034
    Crossover components do age and over time, go out of spec, or otherwise fail. The SL2000/SL3000 tweeters also did not age well. Thankfully, this forum is loaded with information on how to go about restoring and actually improving the performance of your speakers. For less than a grand, you can make them sing like new or even better.

I have the 1.2TL's and they are my end-game speaker.
    The Gear... Carver "Statement" Mono-blocks, Mcintosh C2300 Arcam AVR20, Oppo UDP-203 4K Blu-ray player, Sony XBR70x850B 4k, Polk Audio Legend L800 with height modules, L400 Center Channel Polk audio AB800 "in-wall" surrounds. Marantz MM7025 stereo amp. Simaudio Moon 680d DSD

“When once a Republic is corrupted, there is no possibility of remedying any of the growing evils but by removing the corruption and restoring its lost principles; every other correction is either useless or a new evil.”— Thomas Jefferson
  • BlueFox
    BlueFox Posts: 15,251
    Speakers, like everything, get old and no longer perform as well as when new.
    Lumin X1 file player, Westminster Labs interconnect cable
    Sony XA-5400ES SACD; Pass XP-22 pre; X600.5 amps
    Magico S5 MKII Mcast Rose speakers; SPOD spikes

Shunyata Triton v3/Typhon QR on source, Denali 2000 (2) on amps