Recent Polk 705/707 discounts a result of poor design?

Came across a post on audioholics from a speaker designer that the reason for the recent massive discounts of the Polk 705/707 LSiM line is the result of a major design flaw. That is placing two crossovers below 400Hz at 100Hz and 300Hz stressing avr's and requiring large amounts of amplification, possibly leading to component failure. Is it really an engineering feat or is there some truth to this? I'm new to high fi audio so thought I would post this here and some brighter minds can help shine some light on this.

Quoting:

"You need to drop these speakers like a hot potato. The whole design concept is flawed and insane.

Now we have a lunatic who has presented a speaker with not just one crossover below 400 Hz but two. (100 Hz and 300 Hz)

Now I have designed speakers for years. I can tell you that there is no way you can make a safe speaker like that, let alone a decent one, with a passive crossover solution. I say that categorically, there is no way. I have to work with the same laws of nature as Polk. To even consider this, which is a bad idea anyway as the crossover points are too close together, you would need at least three amps with active crossovers.

Inevitably the stress on the receiver or power amp are going to be horrendous with passive crossovers with those specs.

There is a very high probability the crossover is actually in resonance, a very bad situation for amps driving them. However if you cobble together a contraption like that, you will be far too stupid to spot a detail like resonance.

Do not connect your receiver to a speaker like that. It will vastly shorten its life, if it has not already.

The cynic in me leaves to believe that now Polk and Denon Marantz are the same company, they are deliberately trying to boost the market for replacement receivers.

The is the most egregious concept for a speaker I have seen to date."

URL: