mixing brands: front speakers (left/center/right) vs rears.

Options
Hey everyone. Total newbie AND NON-AUDIOPHILE/fanboy here. So, please forgive me in advance if I seem lost with this topic.

First off, I'm in the process of WANTING to build a 5.2.2 system. My living room size is 11'X15'X8' (L X W X H). Listening distance from front towers are about 8ft. It is a living room that keeps extending out beyond my listening area into a wider space. Hence, the 5.2.2... I cannot feasibly put rear speakers behind me (well, I could.. but the wifey..).

2 weeks ago, I bought a pair of Klipsch RP260F's that were on sale ($600/pair AFTER TAXES.. and might get cheaper because the store discounted it some more, so I'm going to go price match).

A week prior, I had auditioned a pair of S60's, and really loved the way they sounded. I also auditioned the RP260F's and loved the way they sounded too (remember.. I'm NOT an audiophile/fanboy). I bought the Klipsch's because I felt that it was too good to pass up on a good pair of towers.

So here's my question:

Can I later on move the Klipsch RP260F to the side/rears, and go with the S60s and S35 (or S30) for the fronts? I have read that the fronts should match, but the rears aren't really an issue. Where I'm located, Polk speakers are a lot more accessible than Klipsch (unless if I buy online).

Subwoofer, I'm planning on the svs 2000 series subs.

Please remember: I'm not an audiophile, and I'm NOT a fanboy (to me, they all sound good). I don't mind having grilles on the speakers, the look with/without doesn't matter to me and I have 2 kids that like to run around, so that little bit of extra protection is a bonus.

Thank you!

Comments

• FestYboy
    FestYboy Posts: 3,861
    Options
    No worries there. We've all done it at some point, either by necessity or design. You may find the Klipsch distractingly bright in the surround position though.
  • cfrizz
    cfrizz Posts: 13,415
    edited June 2019
    Options