Need advice and help with using a power amp to drive Polk RTi A7s please

Options
daoki
daoki Posts: 32
edited November 2018 in Speakers
Hey guys I’m fairly new to the audio game and only became part of the Polk club less then a fortnight ago. I picked up some Polk rti a7s they are rated at 20 - 300 watts at 8ohms. I was told that I would need a big fat juicy amp to drive these things. I am currently using a Denon 2801 receiver at 90 watts per channel, but I have come across a Denon Power amplifier which is the Denon POA 2800 at 200 watts per channel at 8ohms and 400 watts 4 ohms I’m pretty sure. I was just wondering guys because I’m just starting off into the audio world is this a good combination to drive my speakers for now? Just really want to hear what my speakers are capable of because I feel as if they are only operating at 30% performance wise now with the Denon 2801 90 watts receiver no where near what they are capable of sounding like. I really like the Denon POA 2800 and it’s specs one mainly cause it was produced in Japan around their golden years I read some where and also someone else told me that when looking for a preamp and power amplifier keeping them the same brand just works well together as a combo???. So should I jump on the POA 2800 guys for now until later on once I become more familiar with the audio world and upgrade later on? I have read a lot of good reviews from people that have owned the POA 2800s and that they just do make them like they used to know more. What do you think guys? The specs of the POA are listed below.

Thanks guys

Tony

High End Denon power amplifier

High End Denon Power amplifier model POA-2800 Made in Japan

Very good condition and Amazing sound(warm open sound and strong power out put)

This unit build in very big transformer and 4 big caps 18.000Mf each caps

200 watts pre channel for 8 ohm or 350 per channel for 4 ohm

Dimension W- 430 D- 410 H-190 18Kg

Everything working in good condition slight scratches