Looking to add a cheap AMP to drive my bi-amp Polk RTi12's

Options
Wantabe_Audiophile
edited November 2018 in Speakers
I am a novice for sure but, I had this thought and wanted to run it by those with much more experience than myself.

What I purchased a cheap amp such as a Crown XLS 1500 to drive just the qty:3 7" drivers in each RTi 12 speaker?

Thought: I could bi-amp the front left and right speakers and push clean audio straight from the Denon X4400H to the remaining speakers in the RTi 12's, qty:2 5" mids and qty:1 1" tweeter.

2 Questions:
1. Would this work? (will the bi-amp setting work like I think it might, for this puprpose?)
a.) use the front L,R pre-amp out to an amplifier to feed the 7" drivers
b.) use the height channels in bi-amp mode to feed 5" mids and 1" tweeters
3. Would this be a cheap option to drive the total of 6, 7" drivers in the RTi's, and yet still give me quality sound, assuming you agree that the Denon is capable of producing quality sound ;)

I have spent more than I wanted to on updating my theater room already so I am looking to spend as little as possible.

Yes, I have read many threads and understand that there are better amplifiers for home theater and a difference between pro and HT amplifiers.

Appreciate any feedback.

Cheers!

Comments

• mrloren
    mrloren Posts: 2,454
    Options
    I wouldn't mess with "Bi-Amp". I tried it and didn't like the sound. Better to replace the brass jumpers with speaker wire.

With RTi look for a good used B&K or Parasound. Outlaw and Emotiva are other options. I did use a 1st gen XPA5 on my old RTi 8 for a weekend. sounded a lot better than the Sony ES AVR.
    When I was a kid my parents told me to turn it down. Now I'm an adult and my kids tell me to turn it down.
    Family Room:LG QNED80 75", Onkyo RZ50 Emotiva XPA3 GEN3 Oppo BDP-93,Sony UBP-X800BM. Main: Polk LsiM 705Center: Polk LSiM 704CFront High/Rear High In-Ceiling Polk 80F/X RT Surrounds: Polk S15 Sub: HSU VTF3-MK5