Tweeter replacement

AdamSDCA
AdamSDCA Posts: 18
edited May 2018 in Vintage Speakers
Hi all,

I recently purchased a pair of SDA CRS and I love them. So much so that I just went out and found some monitor 5 series 2’s to use as rear surround. I chose the CRS because of space concerns, but it turns out I can fit a larger set and am able to swap back the CRS’s with the same person for a set of 2B studios.

Here’s the trouble: I wasn’t careful buying the monitors, and one of the tweeters is out. I’m thinking if I buy one RD0198, I can put that and the working one from the other monitor into the 2B’s, and move those SL2000’s into the monitors. My question: I have no experience with electrical engineering; is this tweeter replacement straight forward enough with the right hex key and a pair of hands?

Answers

• AdamSDCA
    Thanks in advance!
  • F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,708
    The 2B uses a different tweeter than the Series 2 versions. They are not interchangeable.
    Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

• AdamSDCA
    I’ve noticed that SDO198 refers to both the SL3000 (SDA) and the SL2500 (monitor), but I wasn’t sure why they would have the same part ID. So both can use an SDO198, but the SL2500 can’t be used in an SDA and vice versa?
  • AdamSDCA
    Actually I just found one of your old replies about the RDO-198-1. So I guess in the ideal case I would get four of those? Is the replacement straight forward ie doesn’t require an arc welder? Lol
  • F1nut
    edited May 2018
    Not quite. The 2B uses the SL2000 while the Series 2 uses the SL2500. The replacement for the SL2000 is the RD0194 while the replacement for the SL2500 is the RD0198.