Entry level Speakers tsi100 or t50?

Options
I have a question. I am a rookie at speaker set ups so I don't know very much about this stuff. My main question is for my main left and right speakers should I get the t50s or would the tsi100 be just as good. I am on a budget and trying to get the best deal for everything. i am looking to eventually build up to a 5.1 set-up, but probably can't get it all at once, so which speakers should I get first. Mainly just looking for advice from people with more experience. How would you go about building your system on a tight budget?

Comments

• ken brydson
    ken brydson Posts: 8,650
    Options
    Tight budget, I'd go used off CL or Ebay...
  • ut_Jazz
    ut_Jazz Posts: 7
    Options
    Thanks I had heard mix feelings as to whether floor standing speakers are better than bookshelf ones. And I was having to a hard time comparing the two. Do you have any other recommendations at that price point.
  • txcoastal1
    txcoastal1 Posts: 13,132
    Options
    Question would be based on room size. If you have a small room I would go with the T50's and build around that.

If you have a larger room then I would start with the TSI's and move them to rear channels in the future, and replace the fronts with TSi Towers.

Welcome to Club Polk

IMHO patience is the best advice I can give, build the best you can in a budget with a better result....even if it takes awhile ;)
    2-channel: Modwright KWI-200 Integrated, Dynaudio C1-II Signatures
    Desktop rig: LSi7, Polk 110sub, Dayens Ampino amp, W4S DAC/pre, Sonos, JRiver
    Gear on standby: Melody 101 tube pre, Unison Research Simply Italy Integrated
    Gone to new homes: (Matt Polk's)Threshold Stasis SA12e monoblocks, Pass XA30.5 amp, Usher MD2 speakers, Dynaudio C4 platinum speakers, Modwright LS100 (voltz), Simaudio 780D DAC

erat interfectorem cesar et **** dictatorem dicere a
  • txcoastal1
    txcoastal1 Posts: 13,132
    Options
    Well there you go...a seesaw