Tweeter not working SDA CRS

tat
tat Posts: 159
edited August 2016 in The Clubhouse
So I just rec'd a pair of SDA CRS f5rom 1984 with double SL1000 tweeters. Gorgeous real walnut, unfortunately poor packing by FEDEX franchise has left a couple dented corners.

Now my concern is the stereo tweeter is not working. So far I have:

1) confirmed tweeter has DCR 7.9 ohms unhooked
2) confirmed fuse continuity across 2 posts
3) switched working SL1000 (Phase pos) and stereo tweet with same results..no stereo tweet
4) measured 4 ohm DCR when tweeters both wired in

Next up is to look inside and make sure no loose wires etc. I am scared it will be a blown component in the crossover (which I have never worked on before). Any suggestions or experience is much appreciated. Thanks. WOW these things pump alotta bass for small speakers!~ just like I remember.
When freedom is outlawed, only outlaws are free...

Comments

• tat
    Okay I have searched and cannot find confirmation on which drivers are the stereo and which are dimensional. I think I remeber the inside are stereo, is that correct?
    Thanks.
  • tat
    edited August 2016
    UPDATE: working now..after disassembling etc I finally found it is sketchy interconnect that only works when held certain way. The wire has pulled out at the plug, as happens freq with old cables.

However, the left stereo tweeter seems lower output than the right. If anything my exp is left channel is louder usually. Gonna switch with another hope improves...could be caps etc though. I think I got a low DCR reading on the left tweeter so may be damaged. lower ohms usually means louder output in my experience with guitar amps but perhaps different here.
    Post edited by tat on
  • tat
    edited August 2016