Harsh highs at high levels. Common?

Options
Now that I've got my Parasound amp broken in a bit I've was play some high volumes today and notice the highs just seem to be pretty harsh on the ears. I pulled the treble back to -2 dB and the bass -4 dB because I was using the subwoofers today. 2 ten inch 300 watt each Infinity CMMD drivers.

Is this a common traight for the SL2000 in the SDA2? I tried 2 different sources.

Could this be a sign the caps need replacing? Or am I just asking to much from the srs2?

I am new to the vintage Polk gear. Not sure what I should be expecting.

Comments

• F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,802
    Options
    The SL2000's have a 5dB spike around 12-13kHz, which can result in a ice pick in ears type sound.

However, that may only be part of your problem.
    How many wpc is your amp?
    How many hours do you have on the amp?
    What are you using for a pre amp?
    What cables are you using?
    Do you have a dedicated line? If not, what else is on that line?
    At what position on the volume knob are you experiencing the issue?
    Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

• CH46E
    CH46E Posts: 3,549
    edited September 2016
    Options
    Ok, the amp is 400 wpc at 4 ohms. What my SRS2 are I think. Parasound 2250 v2. 275 at 8 ohms.

Pre is a 2015 Yamaha RXA 1050 Aventage. Not your everyday run of the mill HTR. I very much like this HTR. It's no slouch.

The amp has about 200 hours on it now.