Upgrade X-over on Monitor 12?

plastic_avatar
plastic_avatar Posts: 687
edited February 2009 in DIY, Mods & Tweaks
I see all kinds of X-over upgrade talk about the 10's and 7's and SDA's and everything in between... but I can't find anything on the 12's, yet :(

Can it be as simple as looking at the schematic and throwing new caps and whatnot in?

I know that's a pretty simple-minded question, but I'm new at this vintage speaker thing :D

(I bought a pair of Monitor 12's Series II for $19 at the local Salvation Army (great shape overall, but one box was missing a tweeter, and the other tweeter was 'crusty' on the edges), bought 2 replacement SL-2500's off of ebay 2 days ago for $54, and figure what-the-hell, why not see how much it would cost to re-do the X-overs *before* I get the fever and order the RD0198's.)
The Thrifty Setups in Mah House Big thrifty stereo in the basement w/ my custom SDA-1C (built with help from kind forum members) * Beautiful 1966 MCM GE console upgraded w/ Bluetooth, Dual turntable, and Paradigm speakers in family room * Swanky 1980 Realistic system and great TEAC eq with dancing colored lights in the living room * Ye Olde college stereo in the garage
Post edited by plastic_avatar on

Comments

• ShinAce
    ShinAce Posts: 1,194
    edited February 2009
    The cost will depend on the quality fo capacitor you go for.

Obviously, tossing the cheapest non-polarized electrolytics in the wrong place won't help. Likewise, putting foil caps everywhere will cost an arm and a leg.

Yours might or might not have the polyswitches. The switch adds a capacitor to the crossover.