Polk SDA 1C's What to upgrade.

Irrenhaus
Irrenhaus Posts: 1,082
edited July 2014 in Vintage Speakers
Hi all

I know this has been ask many times, sorry. So I have these for a few months now and really like how they sound and best guess after upgrades they will sound better. I was thinking of getting a new DAC but I rather try to do the upgrades now that I am on vacation and there is no work travel and get the DAC once they are SDA's are burn-in.

Here what I was thinking:

1. Crossovers will use SoniCaps and Mills Resistors. Boards well may use the stock ones, build my own or get the ones from Gimpod. Still undecided.
2. Tweeters RDO-194-1
3. Dynamat all that is required and JB Weld the magnets

What else can I do?

Do I upgrade the interconnect cable? I have the original pin/blade.

Sorry if I am not correct on what I am asking. I am a rookie to the SDA's

One cool part of this upgrade is that my daughter(15) is offering to help and learn.

Cheers
HTAVR-Pioneer SC99XPA-DR3 Differential Reference AmpPolk R-700Rear- RT150Side- RT150Center-CSi5Sub-Rythmik audio F25Player- Panasonic DP-UB9000Projector- Optoma CinemaX P2Screen- Silver Ticket Products STR Series 6 120"Audio Room 2ch rig.Cary AE-3, Onkyo M-504, Marantz SA8005, Azur 851NWharfedale - Linton, SVS SB12-NSDMinis Forum PC (streamer) and Panamax MX5105Headphone rig;Schiit JOTUNHEIM and different headphones.Samsung 42" flat screen TV.
Post edited by Irrenhaus on

Comments

• F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,704
    edited July 2014
    Get in on the Dreadnought group buy.

Get on the waiting list for Larry's rings.

Spike those speakers.
    Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

• deronb1
    deronb1 Posts: 5,021
    edited July 2014