How to get USB Audio Support on my Nexus 5?

DaveHo
DaveHo Posts: 3,471
edited March 2014 in Going Digital
Just picked up a Google Nexus 5 phone. It appears it can output audio via USB, but not without some work. Question is, which route should I take? Keep in mind I'm a newb when it comes to rooting phones & stuff like that.

The easy way it appears would be to install USB Audio Player Pro. I've read mixed reviews on the usability of the app. Anybody use it? Secondly, I could install CyanogenMod 11 in place of the Google OS. Frankly , never having rooted a phone before this option is kind of intimidating. Are there any other options I'm missing?

The end application is to use my phone & a USB DAC to feed my Schitt Asgard 2 headphone amp in my work rig.

Help!

-Dave
Post edited by DaveHo on

Comments

• EndersShadow
    EndersShadow Posts: 17,517
    edited March 2014
    Honestly at this point I personally gave up trying on my HTC One. In the long run, your source files are not super good (unless your using FLAC that is), so the difference between line level and the phones DAC and a good USB DAC can only help it so much.

I am just looking at getting a JDSLabs C182 so its super portable (I get up from my desk a lot) and calling it a day.
    "....not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted." William Bruce Cameron, Informal Sociology: A Casual Introduction to Sociological Thinking (1963)
  • DaveHo
    edited March 2014
    See, that's the thing. I am using Flac, & I'd like to get the best I can out of it. It'd be nice to at least be able to compare for starters.
  • mdaudioguy
    mdaudioguy Posts: 5,165
    edited March 2014
    Rooting and installing custom roms on the Nexus 5 is easy! Read up on xda forums. Always be sure to backup important stuff along the way. You can always go back to stock if you don't like the results, but after flashing a few roms, I doubt you will!
  • AsSiMiLaTeD
    AsSiMiLaTeD Posts: 11,722