digital ripping questions

Options
vulcan
vulcan Posts: 86
edited December 2013 in Going Digital
I am a digital newbie, thanks in advance for your help. Ripping my cd collection to FLAC files. Whats the best setting to use,
16/44.1k or 24/96k? I have researched some other posts that said to stay with 16/44.1k since REDBOOK cd are that and
best not to rip upsampling. Also what software do you use to play FLAC on a Windows based PC? Right now just ripping to my PC. But eventually would like to play them on my stereo system.
Seems there are a lot of options and you have to find what works best for you. My computer is in the same room with the stereo and thinking about installing a sound card using the optical out to a dac in the stereo. Appreciate your feedback, thanks!
SDA 1C (wood)- Vr3 crossovers/ Gimpod board's, Larry's rings, RDO194 tweeters, Dynamat. Updated terminal cup and binding posts. Custom IC by Vr3 with Neutrik connectors. SDA 2B(studio)- SonicCraft crossovers(TL mod), RD0-198 tweeters. Hurricane nuts, DynaMat and JB Weld.
Post edited by vulcan on

Comments

• steveinaz
    steveinaz Posts: 19,522
    edited November 2013
    Options
    IMPORTANT: make sure you have your setting decisions made, before you begin the "torturous" journey of ripping your library---I speak from experience. What SW are you using to rip with?

Media Monkey is free and will play/organize your flac library.

Have a plan before starting, much like developing a database structure. This will save alot of work and heartache later. I'd recommend EAC (Exact Audio Copy) but there are other alternatives.
    Source: Bluesound Node 2i - Preamp/DAC: Benchmark DAC2 DX - Amp: Parasound Halo A21 - Speakers: MartinLogan Motion 60XTi - Shop Rig: Yamaha A-S501 Integrated - Shop Spkrs: Elac Debut 2.0 B5.2
  • AsSiMiLaTeD
    AsSiMiLaTeD Posts: 11,722
    edited November 2013
    Options
    Start with a good ripping program. I really like dbpoweramp and their accuraterip system
  • D'prived