LS70 Crossover upgraded... now I have some questions

Options
attym
attym Posts: 33
edited December 2013 in Vintage Speakers
I took the plunge and upgraded the caps and resistors on the crossover.

I used Dayton Audio PMPC-6.8 6.8uF 250V Precision Audio Capacitors and Mills 1.5 Ohm 12W Non-Inductive Resistors.

I'm a soldiering novice, but felt comfortable digging into this board since it was wide open.

The speakers sounded good before, I just wanted to tinker and upgrade the original, 20 year old parts.

The installing was fairly quick and easy.

The sound seems more detailed. However, I can't help but notice the highs are far more detailed, louder, almost to the point I have to play with the tone knobs (gasp!)... I can tame the highs by doing that and never had to before and have it in my head I shouldn't have to. I never had this issue before, everything seemed well balanced, now the highs are... HIGH.

My questions are:
If I screwed something up in the installation, would I get any sound? Would I get sound that wasn't right? Would something not installed right give me too much highs? Am I now hearing the speakers the way they were meant to be heard? I also assumed the components (caps and resistors) weren't polarized and didn't bother to check if I put them in backwards or not... I'm guessing it doesn't matter.

Overall, the sound isn't bad, in fact, some records sound great, others that used to sound great have a lot more pronounced highs... I'm not in love with the sound yet, but I'm not convinced its bad if that makes sense... its just very different. I was sort of hoping for instant wow factor.
Post edited by attym on

Comments

• F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,792
    edited December 2013
    Options
    The caps need to burn in for at least 200 hours, so until then don't judge the sound. That said, I would never use Dayton or Solen caps in the high frequency circuit as both are grainy, which results in a harsh top end.