Tube Preamp

dcarlson
dcarlson Posts: 1,740
edited May 2004 in 2 Channel Audio
Ok, so I'm now looking for a tube pre. The Bottlehead Foreplay kit seems to be what I'm leaning towards.

http://www.bottlehead.com/et/adobespc/foreplay/foreplay_line_stage_kit.htm

Anyone have any other suggestions, on the cheap?
SDA-2a, Anthem Pre-2L, Anthem Amp 1, MF A324 DAC, Rotel RCD1070

Senn HD650 Cardas, Mapletree Audio Ear+ HD2, Kimber KS1030, Bel Canto DAC2, M-Audio Transit, Laptop.
Post edited by dcarlson on

Comments

• madmax
    madmax Posts: 12,434
    edited May 2004
    I can't imagine a cheaper more reasonable thing to buy. I have no experience with it though.
    madmax
    Vinyl, the final frontier...

Avantgarde horns, 300b tubes, thats the kinda crap I want... :D
  • gmorris
    gmorris Posts: 1,179
    edited May 2004
    At the very least it has a funny name.
    Bob Mayo, on the keyboards. Bob Mayo.
  • dcarlson
    edited May 2004
    Yeah, a quote from the website.
    As soon as we finished designing the original S.E.X. (Single Ended eXperimenter's) amp kit, we knew we needed a line stage preamp to go before it. What else could you call this kit but Foreplay?

I'm pretty sure Wardsweb built one.

Senn HD650 Cardas, Mapletree Audio Ear+ HD2, Kimber KS1030, Bel Canto DAC2, M-Audio Transit, Laptop.
  • tonyv1
    tonyv1 Posts: 365
    edited May 2004
    Just remember that the Foreplay inverts phase. Many tube preamps do this (CJ are known for this feature). Swapping leads at the speakers is the easiest way to correct it. Good luck with assembling the kit.
  • Shizelbs
    Shizelbs Posts: 7,433
    edited May 2004
    I've read a lot of good things about the stuff that comes from those bottlehead folks. You may be able to find a good deal more reviews/opinions at www4.head-fi.org/forums/. Let us/me know what you think if you go down this road.
  • dcarlson
    edited May 2004
    Originally posted by tonyv1