Receiver Recommendation For Polk RTi A5

ThirdWorldGuy
ThirdWorldGuy Posts: 39
edited September 2012 in 2 Channel Audio
Hi, This is my first thread so don't murder me if I'm in the wrong section.
I will be getting the RTi A5s in a couple of months and was looking at the Yamaha RX-V473 receiver to power them.
Is this a good option?
And is this a receiver that is meant to be used only with HTiB speakers? The local audio shop guy told me there are seperate amps for those speakers so I'm totally confused. Other than that I really like the receiver.
The stereo amplifiers he showed me were 2 Onkyos (9155 and 8030) and a Pioneer VSX-420. Which I looked up on the internet and all 3 dont seem very good products :/
Please help me out im totally lost...

Sorry for being a complete noob but this will be my second setup. Previous setup was Polk M60s with a PSW10 sub running through an outdated 55W/ch Pioneer 2 channel amp.

Uses : Music/Movies Equally.

Thanks.
Post edited by ThirdWorldGuy on

Comments

• chumlie
    chumlie Posts: 8,658
    edited September 2012
    Welcome 3wguy. What are you looking for, a 2 channel stereo system or 5.1 surround system ?
  • cfrizz
    cfrizz Posts: 13,415
    edited September 2012
    Welcome to Club Polk. Pick a receiver that has all the bells and whistles that you want it to have and make sure it has preamp outputs to add a separate amplifier to it for more power in the future. It will cost you more money up front, but since these are designed to work for years you will certainly get your moneys worth out of it.
    Marantz AV-7705 PrePro, Classé 5 channel 200wpc Amp, Oppo 103 BluRay, Rotel RCD-1072 CDP, Sony XBR-49X800E TV, Polk S60 Main Speakers, Polk ES30 Center Channel, Polk S15 Surround Speakers SVS SB12-NSD x2
  • Thorton
    Thorton Posts: 1,324
    edited September 2012
    Welcome to the Club. I completely agree with cfrizz comments. Make sure it has preamp outputs.