Rank Newbie Questions

Coolhand
Coolhand Posts: 1
edited August 2001 in Technical/Setup
Howdy folks, you can read this and think back to the old days, back before the war, when you were like me. My wife and I just purchased our first (modest) home theater setup for our small duplex. Receiver and speakers are:

R40 sides
RT25i rears
CS245i center
PSW250 sub
Sony STR-DE945 receiver.

My questions are:

- should I setup the sides and center as "small" speakers and port the low freq. stuff to the sub? The frequency response of the R40s is 40 Hz - 24 kHz and the CS245i is 52 Hz - 26 kHz. The PSW250 freq. response is 30 Hz - 180 Hz although I understand the receiver may regulate the upper end a bit. Is it going to hurt me at all to set them (except maybe the rears) as "large"? What are the advantages and disadvantages?

- could somebody explain crossover freq to me? Remember, I'm a newbie AND an Aerospace guy... so we don't understand things that spark too well. (heh heh). I'm assuming this is the freq where the speaker hands off low frequency signals to the sub. The PSW250 has an adjustable crossover freq of 80 - 160 Hz, but the other speaker manuals don't explicity tell me their crossover freqs..... Instead they give me the "crossover topology" - the low and high pass filter info. My receiver lets me adjust crossover freq from 60 Hz to 180 Hz in 30 Hz steps when the speakers are set to small. Does this mean I don't worry about crossover freqs when they're set to "large"?

Any help is very appreciated. Have a good weekend!

BTW - Us Austinite's get a big welcome home shindig for Lance Armstrong tomorrow night.... if yer into cycling this is pretty cool.

Justin (not the moderator dude heh)
Post edited by Coolhand on

Comments

• George Grand
    George Grand Posts: 12,258
    edited August 2001