Tube Damping Instruments Hal-O

ezc
ezc Posts: 426
edited May 2004 in 2 Channel Audio
Has anyone tried these? They have gotten good reviews! Any input is appreciated! Im new to tube equipment so Im trying to learn what may work & what wont!
Thanks!
halo9e.jpg
forgot to include the web site address
http://herbiesaudiolab.home.att.net/
Post edited by ezc on

Comments

• pjdami
    pjdami Posts: 1,894
    edited April 2004
    Hey ezc,

No I haven't tried those yet but there are forum members here who believe in some sort of tube damping devices like the rings that go on top. I posted a thread a couple of weeks ago on Pearl Tube Coolers which I've been thinking about trying out.

Those that you are looking at are fairly inexpensive and worth a shot for sure. Didn't your Ah! cdp come with the orange ring dampers that they show on the website?

Paul
  • ezc
    edited April 2004
    Paul,

Ordered the Hal-o's this week. I bought a set for the tubes & salo for the IC's. Figured since Im paying shiping may as well try the IC's too since its not that expensive. The Tjoeb didnt come with the orange damping rings. I needed to order the super tjoeb to have it included. So far the player is sounding better & better as it breaks in! Much Much better than my yamaha cd player!
  • danger boy
    danger boy Posts: 15,722
    edited April 2004
    hey what's the theory behind tube dampers anyway?
    PolkFest 2012, who's going>?
    Vancouver, Canada Sept 30th, 2012 - Madonna concert :cheesygrin:
  • pjdami
    edited April 2004
    Sean,

How could you even say that? You of all folks;)

As far as the theory, there's a lot of it in the link below. Check out the link in the thread. Hbomb also had a nice writeup on micorphonics.

http://clubpolk.polkaudio.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=17837

Danger, aren't you using the ring dampers on your CAL Delta DAC?

PJ
  • danger boy
    edited May 2004
    Originally posted by pjdami