newb question

Options
ebarrons
ebarrons Posts: 7
edited April 2004 in Speakers
I am new to the Polk world, just picked up a pair of like-new SDA-2A speakers and have some questions on them. What is the rated frequency range that they can reproduce? I.E. 20hz-25khz? How much power can they handle? I.E. 200 watts, etc. ? I have a borrowed Sansui 6700(I think) 2 channel amp that powers them, but shuts off around 50%. I'm guessing this is due to too much power. Any suggestions for a newb?
Thanks
Post edited by ebarrons on

Comments

• AsSiMiLaTeD
    AsSiMiLaTeD Posts: 11,722
    edited April 2004
    Options
    Hmmm, can't find the specs on the site...I'm sure someone will chime in soon with information.
  • dorokusai
    dorokusai Posts: 25,576
    edited April 2004
    Options
    I seriously doubt you are overpowering them. Do you have the SDA interconnect cable for them?

15hz-26khz
    10-500 WPC
    CTC BBQ Amplifier, Sonic Frontiers Line3 Pre-Amplifier and Wadia 581 SACD player. Speakers? Always changing but for now, Mission Argonauts I picked up for $50 bucks, mint.
  • PolkWannabie
    PolkWannabie Posts: 2,763
    edited April 2004
    Options
    Originally posted by ebarrons
    I'm guessing this is due to too much power.
    I'm guessing it's not enough.
  • F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,898
    edited April 2004
    Options
    Welcome to the forum.

First off, it's a receiver, not an amp and it's probably rated about 100 wpc @ 8 ohms. The Polk speakers you have are rated at 4 ohms nominal. I don't know this receiver, but it might not be rated to drive 4 ohm loads. In any case, you're driving the receiver into clipping at 50%, but then again, most receivers/amps start clipping around 50%. The receiver you have shuts down to save it's self from it's owners foolishness.