Phase Switch

organ
organ Posts: 4,969
edited April 2004 in 2 Channel Audio
After reading about this in several other forums, I decided to give it a try. Apparently, a lot of CD's out there were released 180o out of phase and that's why many units have a phase switch on them. I started playing around with the switch on my DTI and it made quite adifference on many recodings. The incorrect phase is more blurred and sometimes sound thinner. It seems like the sibilance stand out more when the phase is wrong. Finding the right setting also made some of my CD's sound much warmer. But te biggest difference is the soundstage.

If you own an equipment that can do reverse phase in the digital domain, give it a try. You'll be surprised by the results. Now I need to mark down cd's that sound better on reverse.

I hear you can also do this by switching the speaker wire polarity but a lot of the differece you'll hear in this set up will be from the caps in the x-over getting reverese polarity. Digital switching won't do this.

Maurice
Post edited by organ on

Comments

• rlw
    rlw Posts: 231
    edited April 2004
    From the Silent Running Audio WebSite:

Phase Chart
  • Tour2ma
    Tour2ma Posts: 10,177
    edited April 2004
    Interesting posts... Thanks for the link, rlw.

I've gotta start playing and paying attention to this as well maurice. Will be curious to see if our observations match the list in the link.
    More later,
    Tour...
    Vox Copuli
    Better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to open your mouth and remove all doubt. - Old English Proverb

"Death doesn't come with a Uhaul." - Dennis Gardner

"It's easy to get lost in price vs performance vs ego vs illusion." - doro
    "There is a certain entertainment value in ripping the occaisonal (sic) buttmunch..." - TroyD
  • gidrah
    gidrah Posts: 3,049
    edited April 2004
    Thanks, I'll keep an ear out too. My integrated has this switch.