Audioquest - Signal Cable comparisons

amulford
amulford Posts: 5,020
edited March 2004 in 2 Channel Audio
Now I am relatively new to this but please bear with me. It's kinda long and I know there are threads for each wire, but I ain't no typist.

Here it is....

Equiment used for comparison:

Carver SD/A 350 5 disc CD changer - using the digital optical out

RS Audio Gold 3 ft. Toslink cable

Sunfire Ultimate Receiver - using pre outs for a 2nd zone, which have no tonal control and put out a flat signal. Volume set at -35, which is 65% of full output

Carver M-400a amplifer - around 200 watts RMS.

Monster XP 14 GA. speaker wire - approx. 30 ft. runs with gold plated bananna plugs on both ends

Polk SDA 2B speakers - set up about 16 ft. apart in corners with 10" & 12" from sides and rears respectively, both toed in towards a sweet spot 20' away (aligned w/ a laser)

Six Pack of Corona Extra chilled to 40 degrees with a Freshly Sliced Lime

Empty House with NO WIFE AND NO KIDS (What a way to spend a Friday night if you have to work saturday, ALONE w/ some good beer playing with your toys...)

Average listening levels as measured with RS Analog SPL Meter - 85 to 95 db (I like it LOUD, and if I'm going to hear subtle differences, it ain't gonna be at whisper levels!)

Cables used:

Acoustic Research - 6 ft. Pretty cheap for a baseline.
Audioquest Diamondbacks - 6ft
Signal Cable Analog 2 - 3 ft

Source Music - I made a demo cd of 11 songs I like:

Yes - Love Will Find a Way Big Generator
Endless Dream (excellent digital recording)

Metallica - The Ecstasy of Gold/ The Call of the Ktulu - S&M
Shoot Me Again

Led Zeppelin - Bonzo's Montreaux (all percussion)

Eagles - Life in the Fast Lane

Steely Dan - Ricky Don't Lose That Number

Robert Plant - Big Log

Ok here are my (man all this typing is giving me finger cramps!) OPINIONS: