RTi100 subwoofer wiring

Options
ArtG
ArtG Posts: 3
Hi,

Total newbie here. I just purchased a set of RTi100s and an Onkyo TX-SR501 receiver. So far the performance has been a bit disappointing. No matter how I try to wire it, the 100s' built-in subwoofers do not seem to be producing any sound.

Naturally, the first thing I did when I got home was immediately open the boxes and do a rough, raw wiring to see how it sounded. I simply ran wires from the Onkyo's front speaker outputs to the 100s and connected my cd player to Onkyo. I then set Onkyo's subwoofer mode to off and played a cd. That sound was acceptable/good but I was obviously anticipating a fuller, richer sound once the 100s' subs were wired. I also placed my head and a hand near the opening at the bottom of the speaker tower to see if I could sense anything coming from the sub opening. Nothing seemed to be coming from the sub.

Next, I ran a RCA cable from the Onkyo's subwoofer pre out to one of 100s' subwoofer line level inputs. I also removed the jumper strips on that speaker. (I kept the other 100 with jumpers and without the RCA input as a test.) I set the Onkyo's subwoofer mode to on and played a cd. The sound from both speakers was identical and flat. I then turned the subwoofer mode to off and both speakers again sounded identical and like they did during the first test, acceptable/good but not great.

After rereading the Polk manual, I noticed the sub's line level inputs should only be used with unfiltered subwoofer outputs. I called Onkyo and they said the output was filtered. (Tech specs can be found here http://www.onkyousa.com/model.cfm?m=TX-SR501&p=s&class=Receiver for any interested audiophiles).

So, any suggestions on how to properly wire these components? Again, I am a total newbie, so please start with the absolute basics, such as did I think to plug in the 100s.

Thanks!

. . . and by the way, they are pluged in and the green power light is on. <g>
Post edited by ArtG on

Comments