Rotel/Yammie Review

phoneisbusy
phoneisbusy Posts: 867
edited December 2003 in 2 Channel Audio
Rotel/Yammie Review

Hi, this is a very belated review of some gear I got from the Club Polk folks. It's not very
detailed or critical, more a summary of my impressions.

Setup:

Yamaha C-40 Preamp WoodyJacobs
RB-956AX 6 channel amplifier poweramp criverjr
Lexicon CP-1 processor. Friend-loaner
Pioneer PD504 25 cd changer (mint) Work $75 cdn
Celestion Mk5 bookshelf left over from old rig

This is my first time using separates. Hooked everything up in eager anticipation to hearing what
separates can do. Initially it was the Rotel using 4 channels bridged into two with the Lexicon
and Pioneer changer.

Loaded up the player and played Vince Guaraldi as the first cd... WTH?!? It sounded like my
cheap Pioneer receiver! Much disappointment! :( Shaking my head, I left it playing and did
some puttering in the work shop. Came back a couple of hours later and huh!?!?! It was now
on an opera cd and it sounded sweet! Stop, restart Vince again. Much better!! :) With the
old receiver, everything was dull and flat but with the amp and CP1 it had more depth the mid
and highs seemed more defined. With the Rotel, there were details in the music that I hadn't
really noticed. Just to be sure I wasn't imagining things, I hooked up the old receiver to the
cd player and speakers. Definitely a difference. With the Rotel and pre, the cymbals from the
drums were very distinct and crisp. With the receiver, they sorta blended in with the piano.

Okay! Is this what people are talking about when they espouse the benefits of separates? Can an
amp and preamp make that much a diff? I guess so. To be fair, the retail for the Rotel and CP1
would likely be more then double the cost of the old receiver but for $380 cdn spent on the used
equipment market, I'd be hard pressed to find something comparable in the new or used receiver