question about seperates

Options
dcorrea
dcorrea Posts: 80
edited November 2003 in Electronics
Ok,
being the complete noob that I am, I was doing research on the seperates. I came across the Sunfire site and ran into their pre-amp, reciever and amp. Now i pretty much gathered that I can hook the amp up to my existing AVR in order to drive more power to my speakers, but what exactly does the pre-amp do? Is the sunfire receiver nothing more than a high end AVR?
If I was to build a HT with seperates, what exactly would I need to purchase? Sorry for all the questions, but I am still learning.
Thanks in advance.
HK AVR 525
Polk RTi-100 Fronts
Polk RTi-38 Rears
Polk CSi-40 Center
Polk FXi-30 (have nowhere to put them just yet)
Post edited by dcorrea on

Comments

• howie777
    howie777 Posts: 357
    edited November 2003
    Options
    The only thing an amplifier does is take an input (CD audio from the pre/pro) and amplify it (make it louder). So the preamp does everything else. It decodes DTS, Dolby Digital, Pro Logic, switches the video and audio inputs. And so on. Its basically the controller of the system.

And Sunfire does have an AVR but they also sell amplifiers and pre/pros too.

So a receiver is the same as having a pre/pro and and amplifier. The only difference would be higher quality with the pre/pro. Now there may be some other things, like not all pre/pros have an AM/FM tuner ( I think) but basically a receiver has to cram both the pre/pro functions and the amplifier part into one box so they have to cut corners. With seperates you have two boxes and don't need to cut corners which is why seperates are usually better than a single receiver.

Just a note, pre/pro stands for preamplifier and processor (I think)

So you can either get a receiver, speakers, DVD player and TV or get a pre/pro, amplifier, speakers, DVD player and TV (don't forget yoru TiVo!)

Hope that helps

Howie
  • dcorrea
    edited November 2003
    Options