settings and hookup

Options
marloue13
marloue13 Posts: 4
Im a newbie and totally unknowledgeable about the different terms here. I just found & bought some clearance Polks to replace my Bose am15 for my family room and need some advice on what will be the best hook up and settings for this system.

i will be using an RTi150 as my main front,

a csi30 as center (on top of my 53"Hitachi UWX10BA)

and still thinking between Fxi30 or Rti38 for my surround.

also i boughht an open box RTi100 (last Pc.) and planning to use it as my backsurround (can i?)can you tell me how to connect it with the other spkr and how about the sub conctn. (do ineed a y adapter?)

i still have my Onkyo skw150 sub and thinking of adding it as a back up sub for the RTi150.

whats the best speaker hookup, until now im still confuse about the biwire and biamp term.does the metal strip produce the same purpose as this? i just want to hook it simple on the terminals and iwould like to know if there is a difference on hooking my wires to upper terminals than the lower -,+ terminals, which is the best? i still have 80 feet of 12 gauge spk wires that i bought from home depot.

Im using an Old Onkyo sr600.
please help me esp.
-setting the receivers spk.config.,,
-sp large/sml, sp calibration (+,-) do i need to crank my RTi150 to make it balance with the other speakers or the other way.
-and the difference between the crossover 80-120.

any advice will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.

m13
marloue
Post edited by marloue13 on

Comments

• Frank Z
    Frank Z Posts: 5,860
    edited October 2003
    Options
    First off, welcome to the forum!

Now sit down and read your manuals...TWICE!!

Next step is to get an SPL meter from Radio Shack and pick up a copy of the Sound & Vision Magizines Home Theater tune-up DVD.

Fxi30's are great for surround duties, the y will difuuse the surround effects so that they are not localized.

Sure you can use the Rti100 as a rear speaker.