Need help on speaker setting

Options
danielyu
danielyu Posts: 10
I just bought a pair of Rti 150, pair of Fxi 50 and Csi 40. I don't have a subwoofer, so should I set ALL 5 speakers to "LARGE"? Since the towers are the ones pounding out the bass, would making the others "Small" make the sound better?

Also, does using 12 gauge wires really improve sound over 16 gauge? Also for Fxi 50, is it ok to set them up "toe-in"? I toe-in my towers and they sound great.

I'm new to home theater/audio and am still learning, so fellow Polk owners, please shed some lights =)

Thanks
D.

btw, I own a Harman Kardon 7200, very NICE receiver. Taking out the rubber base on the tower and use only the metal pin improved bass tremendously. Any other placement suggestions to improve bass since i don't have a sub?
Post edited by danielyu on

Comments

• F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,806
    edited September 2003
    Options
    Welcome to the forum.

I'll answer what I know. IMO, you won't notice a difference between 16 and 12 gauge wire. You will notice a difference between that kind of wire and some higher end wire, but not Monster (over priced/under performing) wire. Try placing your speakers closer to the back wall as a way to improve bass response.
    Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

• Dr. Spec
    Dr. Spec Posts: 3,780
    edited September 2003
    Options
    Mains to large, sub to off/no, all others to small, 80 Hz crossover if it is selectable. Advise 12 gauge on the mains since you are using them full range and triple duty for bass. If you find yourself running out of power for L/R at high volumes for HT applications, consider a larger high current amp for the 150's.

Doc
    "What we do in life echoes in eternity"