What Guage Wire to use?

Options
s2truck
s2truck Posts: 10
Hi There. I'm new to the AV world, and I have what might seem like a very basic question I need answered. Please help.

What's the difference between the guages of speaker wire?

I am trying to determine what I should use to hook up my new pair of PA R30's to the Denon 1803 receiver that arrives tomorrow? I was given some 18 Guage RCA Speaker Wire for free... should I use this? I'm ok to spend a bit of money on the cables, if there is a better choice.

I got some BDay $$ from my wife to start an HT setup... and instead of buying a crappy Home Theatre in a Can, I used my connections to get some great deals on the RCVR and Speakers. The R30's might be a slight bit smaller then I wanted to start, but I figure it's smarter to start small now and build (read as: slowly spend all the money I will ever earn on AV equipment upgrades)

I've been bitten by the bug. Not good.
Stu

"Computers have allowed people to make more errors faster then any other invention in history, with the possible exception of tequila and handguns." -- Mitch Ratcliffe
Post edited by s2truck on

Comments

• faster100
    faster100 Posts: 6,124
    edited September 2003
    Options
    18 awg is kinda small.. i would atleast get 16 or 14 minimum for the main speakers.. surrounds 18 would be ok for short runs and 16 better for anything over like 30-50 foot. the R30's arent real demanding so you could "get by" with the 18 just to try the new Receiver coming, I wouldnt spend a lot of money on wire for now and with what your starting with its not needed. save it for speakers and sources(cd/dvd player) (surround speakers) and so on, great start up set though..

and welcome to the Club
    MY HT RIG:
    Sherwood p-965
    Sherwood sd871 dvd
    Rotel 1075 amp x5
    LSI15 mains
    LsiC center
    LSIfx surround backs
    Lsi7 side surrounds
    SVS pb12/plus2

2 Channel Rig:

nad 1020 Pre-amp
    Rotel 1080 stereo amp
    Polk sda 2B