Tour2ma(ST-70)...

organ
organ Posts: 4,969
edited August 2003 in 2 Channel Audio
Hey Tour, just wondering if you're still using those Electro Harmonix EL34's? You had the EH in your amp from the pic you posted a few months ago. If you're going to replace those tubes I HIGHLY recommend Svetlana EL-34's.

I've been using my EH for about two months and today my quad of Svets EL34 and a pair of JAN-Philips 7199 just came in. I've been breaking them in for the past 10hrs and the sound is f#ckin killer! The Svets is a huge improvement over the EH. The bass is much warmer, the mids is more plump sounding with more bloom and the highs is awesome. The mids have a "wet n juicy" quality that makes it sound much more realistic. I can also hear more natural ambiance in good recordings. I was listening to Sarah Brightman's "Harem" earlier and her voice sounded so realistic. I was able to hear her spit swirling around in her mouth and lips. It was a very erotic experience!

So whenever you're upgrading be sure to consider the Svet's.

Maurice
Post edited by organ on

Comments

• gidrah
    gidrah Posts: 3,049
    edited August 2003
    I'm glad to hear you like the new tubes. Out of curiosity, did you listen with just changing the EL34s? Or did you swap them all at the same time? I had heard good things about the EH EL-34(?)s. I may have to go with the Svetlanas in the future. I haven't heard great things about Westinghouse EL-34s or rectifiers.

Thanks for the heads up on the RCA 7199s btw. If they go anywhere it'll be into tissue paper to be used at a later date after things calm down and I can fully appreciate both them and this amp.