Is the anti-skaiting adjustment obvious? (sp)

madmax
madmax Posts: 12,434
edited August 2003 in 2 Channel Audio
I used to think it was until tonite. I played an lp I have never played before. It seems almost as if the grooves were further apart than normal. The needle was causing subsonic noises from bouncing back and forth. I started playing with the anti-skate control and found I could get rid of the noise. After setting to the best position I then played CCR remastered by kevin gray (excellent lp) and took note of how it sounded. I then moved the anti-skate back to where I used to have it (set at the stylus pressure) and it lost some really great sound. The lp has never sounded so good! Just thought I would throw this out there. As the anti-skate was adjusted it seemed as if I was dialing in the midrange beauty of the lp.
madmax
Vinyl, the final frontier...

Avantgarde horns, 300b tubes, thats the kinda crap I want... :D
Post edited by madmax on

Comments

• Tour2ma
    Tour2ma Posts: 10,177
    edited August 2003
    max,

Short answer: No.

Long answer....
    On most tone arms the tracking force and anti-skate settings are estimates at best. Error starts with the setting of your zero balance of the tone arm, the **** or slding of the counterweight(s), which is an eyeball estimate. Then on top of this error, the arm's tracking force dial can also be off.

Bottom line is your actual tracking force may be off 0.2 grams (or more) from what you think it is.

Now you always start, and many often end, the anti-skate adjustment process by setting it equal to the tracking force setting. Bad news here is the tracking force may not be accurrate to start with, and the anti-skate adjustment scale is often even less precise than the stylus force.

But all is not lost...
    First, invest in a good, inexpensive stylus force balance such as the Shure SG-2 (~$20 at Audio Advisor).