Amp and placement of MM10?

Systems
Systems Posts: 14,873
edited July 2003 in Car Subwoofer Talk
I have a 2003 Dodge Ram Reg Cab and my wife order me an Polk/Momo MM10 and an MTX Thunder 801D amp for my birthday (she loves me), My first question: Is this a good amp for this sub?

MTX Thunder 801D Specifications:
RMS Power 12.5 VDC Input
2 Ohm Load 500 w x 1
4 Ohm Load 250 w x 1

Dynamic Power 14.4 VDC
2 Ohm Load 800 w x 1
4 Ohm Load 400 w x 1

Secondly, is this a good Sub for my truck? I have plenty of room to mount it behind the seats but the direction for the MM10 said to mount it in the trunk and I don't have a trunk!?!

I'm new to the car audio world so please be kind?

Thanks,
Dhunckyn
Albuquerque, NM
Testing
Testing
Testing
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• sntnsupermen131
    sntnsupermen131 Posts: 1,831
    edited July 2003
    yes that amp is a good amp for the sub
    those are great subs too
    youll want a box that has the sub facing forward
    and if you want even more bass, then you could add another mm10 and you could still use the same amp!
    and you wouldnt be depriving it of power
    thats just the way amps work
    you noticed that it said 400x1 @ 4 ohms or 800x1 @ 2 ohms
    well, if you have one sub, the 4 ohm load is what you look at
    and since the sub is rated at 400 watts, then thats perfect
    if you have 2 subs, the 2 ohm load is what you look at
    and since 400x2(2 subs)=800, then youre good there too
    i have a box for 2 mm12s that i had made at a local shop for $120
    it fits under the back seat of my 96 gmc extended cab
    im not sure how much room you have under your back seat...but thats the way i would go
    -Cody
  • PoweredByDodge
    PoweredByDodge Posts: 4,185
    edited July 2003
    dude if you can FIT it behind a seat then go for it, as that is the ideal placement for it.