Got the Dynaco....

organ
organ Posts: 4,969
edited July 2003 in 2 Channel Audio
Well I finally got the amp. My friend came over after work to check out my system, play video games and listen to the Dynaco driving my LSi. We hooked up the 9's to the 4-ohm output and let the amp warm up for about 10 mins.

The first thing I put on was some opera and I was able to tell the difference immediately!(remember, this is my first time with tubes) It's something I've never heard before on any SS gear. The thing that grabbed my attention fist was the extremely smooth vocals it produced and the there's the "air" around the vocals, music, etc. It gives this illusion like you can hear the air in your room, it's very hard to explain. My friend couldn't believe how smooth the sound was and kept commenting on it. I really love the sound.

When he went home, it was time for me to do some critical listening. I couldn't believe how good this 40yr old amp sounds. It blows away every SS amp I've heard to date. I'm not saying that SS sucks but it sounds like tubes and SS like to focus on differeent harmonics. SS likes to focus on the higher freq harmonics while tubes focus on the mids. I heard so much stuff in the mids that I thought never existed on the recording. And all this harmonics in the mids makes the presentation sound very realistic and more natural to me. In one song that I tested which starts with a bass guitar, it felt like the front wall was warping back and forth with the bass guitar. The soundstage was that good! Another thing I really like about tubes is the ultra fast upper bass. When asked to, the amp could sound very hyper. I'm not getting any spongy bass. The bass is tight but won't reach as low as my NAD.