GreenTop Posts: 4
edited July 2003 in Speakers
Post edited by GreenTop on

Comments

• GreenTop
    edited June 2003
    Options
    Originally this was a "oops" message, but I discovered that I could fix the original. But I still can't delete this message, so I'll add some information:

Usually I don't listen to loud music (soft to medium-loud) so the ability to play really loud isn't a priority. But, of course, it might be nice to have this option, just in case.
  • dorokusai
    dorokusai Posts: 25,576
    edited June 2003
    Options
    Welcome to the forum :)

There isn't a timbre problem/issue between the CSi30/40...they use the same drivers, just in different formats. The CSi20 uses different drivers, than the 30/40, albeit the tonal qualities are not extremely far apart.

As to whether they will match your existing speakers is not something probably anyone here can say for sure. I have no experience with the Sony speakers line.

I have heard the entire center channel lineup for Polk Audio. I chose the CSi30, because of the demands that are put on the center in a surround format. I am actually going to upgrade to the CSi40, and move the CSi30 into rear surround duty. The CSi30 handles all my movies just fine, but I want more "hair" on my center, thus the upgrade. In a surround format(5-7.1) your center is going to be handling most if the duty, 50%+, so I would suggest a healthy center channel. Sensitivity isn't that great of an issue for this problem, beings the difference is audibly negligible.

The CSi20 is not the best choice, IMO. Since this is the case, my guess is that you won't have too much of a problem matching the, CSi30/40 with your current speakers.

More folks will post here with their thoughts, let us know what you do. Good luck.
    CTC BBQ Amplifier, Sonic Frontiers Line3 Pre-Amplifier and Wadia 581 SACD player. Speakers? Always changing but for now, Mission Argonauts I picked up for $50 bucks, mint.
  • GreenTop
    edited July 2003