More Power!!!

Options
Demiurge
Demiurge Posts: 10,874
edited July 2003 in Electronics
Ok, Here is my question to you guys. As you know I'm new to this HT stuff. When I came here I had the RM6200 satellites...and I'm slowly trying to upgrade, and I DO mean slowly. As of now, my goal system is as follows:

Speakers:

Center: CSi40
Mains: RTi70's
Surrounds: FXi50's
Rears: RT600i's

Sub: PSW-450 (Would be upgraded to SVS)

Reciever:

Denon AVR-3803

DVD Player:

Denon DVD-2900

I think Wires are the last upgrades I'm going to make, but I also know that if I get some 'amps' and 'pre-amps' it's going to require me to buy a lot more wires.

Now...What would be good, compatibale, 'amps' and 'pre-amps' for the above setup? Could I get all of that stuff first and then think about the 'amps' and 'pre-amps'?

What is the difference between an 'amp' and a 'pre-amp'?

What is it going to give me? I don't need LOUDER. What will it do to the sound quality to justify it? I'm sorry I'm asking all of these questions, but there are no good set-ups at any stores around me that carry Polk speakers. We have a high end audio video store, but they don't have the Polk line.

Please let me know, and what brands. I'm not looking to spend a ton more than I already will on the other stuff.

[ d a v e ]
Post edited by Demiurge on

Comments

• dragon1952
    dragon1952 Posts: 4,897
    edited July 2003
    Options
    An amplifier's only job is to amplify the signal given to it via the preamp, and pass that amplified signal to the speakers.
    A preamp takes a relatively low voltage signal from a source( CD, DVD, etc) and boosts it to a level usable by the power amp. The preamp, generally speaking, has all of the inputs for your sources as well as volume controls and tone controls and balance controls.