breaking in?

Options
howie777
howie777 Posts: 357
edited March 2003 in Speakers
I wrote someone, who will remain nameless, telling them how much I liked my new speakers and couldn't wait until they "broke in". He had an interesting response that makes sense to me. I am an electrical engineer by trade (with little hardware expierece and only 2.5 years out of college so I really know very little) and I could never figure out how a speaker would break in.

Anyway, here is his response. Any opinions?

There is no such thing as breaking in. That's some fantasy invented by magazine writers. The real phenomena is a psychoacoustic one where what you listen to for an extended period becomes the new "center" of reference, and eventually all other things are compared to that. Your brain templates the characteristics of the sound and uses template matching to fit or not fit any sound to its new reference. Like people, speakers start aging from day one, albeit slowly...
Post edited by howie777 on

Comments

• MxStYlEpOlKmAn
    MxStYlEpOlKmAn Posts: 2,116
    edited March 2003
    Options
    I think u have started a war. I hope it goes to the hall of shame. :lol::lol::lol::lol::lol:
    Damn you all, damn you all to hell.......
    I promised myself
    No more speakers. None. Nada. And then you posted this!!!!
    Damn you all! - ATC
  • Ceruleance
    Ceruleance Posts: 991
    edited March 2003
    Options
    I've never experienced 'breaking in' put it seems possible, a couple things, like materials becoming more pliable (less stiff) and therefore faster, and parts of the speaker (dielectrics?) building up charge so that they act faster possibly? Im also fairly skeptical about a lot of what people think makes things sound better, so I could side either way
  • HBombToo
    HBombToo Posts: 5,256
    edited March 2003
    Options