Strange Question

Mike Frisbey
Mike Frisbey Posts: 1
edited October 2002 in Speakers
Greetings:

I have an outdated ProLogic Surround setup. I do have Polk RT1000p's w/subs as front speakers. We will be going to a 5 or 6.1 receiver soon (I have been saying this now for 2 years)

Nothing else for speakers is remarkable (or worth telling anyone about) except maybe the JBL S-Center.

Now here is the strange part. An aquaintance has passed away and he had an identical set of RT1000p's as me. The lady wanted to give them to me and I offered to buy them for a decent price. She wouldn't hear of it and we settled for $50.

Would these be totally unreasonable to use as rear channels with the subs in them? I do understand speaker placement on the surrounds and all but golly! Could I just add a rear center and have something neat?

Any ideas?
Post edited by Mike Frisbey on

Comments

• mantis
    mantis Posts: 17,032
    edited October 2002
    Let me see 4 rt1000p's 2 for fron 2 for rears then you want to add a rear center.........ummmmmm well **** dude you would have a killer set up as I see it.If you don't own a cs400 Id pick one up for the front center.Add a psw450 and your off.

here's how I see it if your lookin for a 6 or 7 channel receiver to go with such a system.....

Denon avr3803 or avr3802 id you can find one left.Cs400i center for up front.Use the rt1000p's as mains,pick up a psw450 for LFE,Use the oher pair of rt1000p's as rears, then instead of a single center channel of the surround back, Id go for a pair of rt35's.Now you have an awesome system as I see it.

Setup.......mains large,center small,sub to yes or on,rears to large,surround back to small,use all good quality wire.SPl the whole thing and BAM..........