i'm a car audio noob and i need a little help

fistofmeat
fistofmeat Posts: 7
edited July 2006 in Car Audio & Electronics
okay, i have exerience w/ electronics and wiring, but absolutely none when it comes to car audio installation. i wanna replace the head unit in my car and have no clue how to hook up an amp or sub. also, my left side speaker channels is messed up (when i hook up a speaker to it, i only get static) and my right ones gives me mild static, but i can still hear the music clearly. i wanna know if it's alright to just run a new speaker wire under the carpeting from the head unit, or do i have to hook it up to power. would i have to get andy specific kind of wire? also, i have an old head unit that i never installed, but it doesn't seem to work now, even when i apply the 12 volts to it. is there any way to test it, or should i just throw it away. one more thing. when i buy a new head, do i just hook up power and speakers to it, or is there more to it than that?

thanx for the help guys.
If Life Hand's You Lemons, Throw Them At Someone...
Post edited by fistofmeat on

Comments

• MacLeod
    MacLeod Posts: 14,358
    edited July 2006
    A HU has 3 wires that must be connected for it to work. One is the ground of course (black), the other is a constant power (usually yellow) and then you have a ignition or remote wire (red) that will hook up to a source that gets power only when the ignition is turned on so it will know when to turn on. To test your HU, make sure its grounded and then apply the 12 volts DC to the yellow AND red wire and it should come on.

As for hooking one up, that will take quite a bit of explaining and it depends on what vehicle youre talking about. One thing to consider is that Circuit City usually offers free installation with most of their HU's so that may be something you want to consider.