Head unit vs. amp for DB650's

The Illadelph
The Illadelph Posts: 4
edited January 2006 in Car Audio & Electronics
I have an integra with 6.5's all the way around and wanted to replace all 4 speakers so I went with the Polk db650's. I am running a Kenwood 528 head unit which says 50x4 but is most likely like what? 10 rms tops? My question is if I get an amp how much power should I put into each speaker without blowing them? Because I may be imagining things but it seems like the bass from the head unit is pushing the limits of the speakers right now. It seems like if they had an amp to them they would just blow out of the frame. Of course I am a novice and have no clue what I am talking about so this is why I am here. any help would be greatly appreciated.

also: would an amp make that big of a difference in sound?
Post edited by The Illadelph on

Comments

• skydeaner
    skydeaner Posts: 187
    edited December 2005
    Ok here's about how it's gonna go...
    That kenwood is rated to put out 22 watts to all 4 chanels rms power with less than 1%thd (which is audible distortion). That rating is taken at 14.4v, so it is probably going to be more around 18 watts. In the manual for the head unit it states that there is a signal to noise ratio of 105db measured at 1khz. The measuring at 1khz is going to be the first problem, no music is just a 1khz test tone, so the s/n ratio is going to be lower just because of that. Not to mention they put this statement in the cd player section so it obviously wasn't measured at full rms output so it will probably be closer to 90 than 105.

now lets take alpine's smallest 4 channel the MRP-F240: