New To Club Polk

Options
rayslifecycle
rayslifecycle Posts: 511
edited May 2008 in Vintage Speakers
Hi Everyone

I am new to club polk. Recently I have put together a system utilizing some classic polk speakers. I live in a small condo in Betehsda Md and have tried a couple of things to remove room vibrations to allow louder listenning with fewer neighbor complaints.

Check out my showcase:
http://www.polkaudio.com/forums/showcase/view.php?userid=88673

I listed what I think the models are, but am not sure if they are correct. If anyone wants to correct me, please do.

Also - If anyone wants to suggest upgrades or mods to the speakers or the equipment, I am all ears and eager to try some new things.

My big question is: Will the interconnect (that I currently do not own) help or hurt the 5.1 sound coming from the rear SDAs.
Post edited by rayslifecycle on

Comments

• billbillw
    billbillw Posts: 6,185
    edited May 2008
    Options
    My suggestion would be to obtain, or build an interconnect for the SDAs, then use them as your front speakers. You will have much better imaging and a wider sound stage from the SDAs compared to the Monitor 10. Although, you will likely have to replace the tweeters (with the new RD0194 silk domes from Polk) on the SDAs to get the smoothness of the Peerless tweeters that are in your Monitor 10. Sell the Monitor 10 to finance the new tweeters. Find a pair of Monitor 5 or 5Jr for your rear speakers.

Oh yeah, I'd only use 1 sub driven directly from your receiver.
    For rig details, see my profile. Nothing here anymore...
  • zingo
    zingo Posts: 11,258
    edited May 2008
    Options
    My fiance would KILL me if my place looked like your; speakers everywhere and I love it.

I replaced the components in the x-overs in my CRS+ and modified them to become SRS 4.1TLs using the SL300 tweeter. I then upgraded them to the silk dome tweeter and built a custom pin-blade IC for them. What happened to your IC?
  • rayslifecycle