As a HT newbie, I'm pleased

Options
kaila
kaila Posts: 2
edited February 27 in Clubhouse Archives
In the face of limited funds (and my wife), the best I could do is cheap out with lower end Polk RT's and a 100w Sony receiver. My room is somewhat small (13X18), but not acoustically challenging in any way. I have been very pleased so far, and very impressed with the sound quality for both music and movies. Not perfect, but I really thought that I would take more of a hit in the quality department with these speakers.

The question I have is what sub would you match with this setup? Especially if I look to trade up to some better mains down the road. And how much better does it get with better speakers? Kind of a cost/benefit question and loaded I know.

RT 35i mains
CS 245i center
RT 25i rears
Post edited by RyanC_Masimo on

Comments

• juice21
    juice21 Posts: 1,866
    edited November 2001
    Options
    welcome to the forum! i would suggest that a psw350 would match your current system pretty well, although if you are looking to upgrade to larger speakers in the near future(possibly 55's or 800's), you may want to go a psw450. the cost difference between the 350 and 450 will make up for itself when you upgrade the speakers. i think you would be happier in the long run. some may suggest even going to a psw650, but it really depends on what you are thinking of upgrading to. velodyne also makes a very good sub, you may want to look at them as well.
  • RuSsMaN
    RuSsMaN Posts: 17,987
    edited November 2001
    Options
    ....ANY sub from the Polk line will blend up nicely....and hey, you didn't cheap out, thats a terrific system.

Hopefully I don't get slammed too hard for saying this, but I wouldn't give Velodyne much thought as far as a mass retail or budget model.... Imo, the CT series just isnt all its cracked up to be.

Nothing wrong, I just think you can do the same or better for less.