Progressive Scan DVD Players

shiznit311
shiznit311 Posts: 95
edited October 2002 in Electronics
I'm just getting started setting up my system and right now I only have a regular DVD player. I'm looking to upgrade to a decent Progressive scan DVD player. I'm not looking for top of the line; I'm just looking for something a little better than average.

I'll be hooking it up to a 51" Widescreen Sony HDTV, Onkyo TX-SR600 Reciever, and Polk RM6600 satellites. With a PSW 350 I think I'm gonna blow the roof off the apartment complex. :D

I was thinking of the basic Sony I can get a Circuit City for $199. But with the ovetime I've worked the last month, I started thinking about getting something a little nicer. I've been checking out three on the internet, so tell me what you guys think.

HK DVD25 - I've found it for betweeen $235 and 299(with free shipping)

Onkyo DVSP 500 or 300- the 500 for about $275, the 300 for about $220

Denon 900 - found it for $240

I went to Now Audio/Video to check out the Denon but they didn't have one hooked up; told me to come back this week. SO anybody got one of these? Or know any pros and cons of each? This will be my first progressive scan so gimme a lil' help.:) Please...;)

As a side note, I'm gonna work some more OT to add a CD changer so I'm not really worried about how many formats it can play.
Post edited by shiznit311 on

Comments

• Dr. Spec
    Dr. Spec Posts: 3,780
    edited October 2002
    Take a look at Toshiba Colorstream Pro - one of the pioneers of progressive scanning technology.

Doc
    "What we do in life echoes in eternity"

Ed Mullen (emullen@svsound.com)
    Director - Technology and Customer Service
    SVS
  • mantis
    mantis Posts: 17,031
    edited October 2002
    Id consider the Sony Dvpns900v.599.99 it's a steal,it used to be a grand.
    Dan
    My personal quest is to save to world of bad audio, one thread at a time.
  • PETERNG
    PETERNG Posts: 918
    edited October 2002
    Check out this one: