cheap truck sub?

gidrah
gidrah Posts: 3,049
edited October 2002 in Car Subwoofer Talk
I have a P/U truck that could use a sub. It's not extended cab and I need to slide the seat all the way back.

This has probably been handled a gazillion times, but I'm new to car audio. Home audio I'm a vet, but I gave up car audio years ago when mine kept getting stolen.
Make it Funky! :)
Post edited by gidrah on

Comments

• bqcaldwell99
    bqcaldwell99 Posts: 1
    edited October 2002
    Gidrah,

Any luck with developing some sort of strategy for a sub for your truck? What kind of truck is it exactly?

I drive a 98 Ford Ranger regular cab, and I developed a box made out of MDF (medium density fiberboard) that fits perfectly behind my driver's seat. The left portion of it is cut away so that it doesn't interfere with the left rear speaker, and the sub is tucked away right in the center of the truck. I had to give up about 1-1/2 to 2 inches of leg room, but it sounds fantastic! :)

The box is sealed with only a hole big enough for the speaker wire to come out. I first drilled holes for the screws, then used wood glue to bon it all, screwed it togther, and then took a heavy caulk and, reaching in through the sub hole, caulked all of the inside real well. No leaks after 1-1/2 years!

I believe I calculated the volume to be somewhere in the range of .65 - .70. This is for a 10", 4-ohm Polk sub.

Let me know if you need any help. I might be able to give you some dimensions.
    Thanks
    bq
  • gidrah
    edited October 2002
    Now I remember the other reason I got out of car audio. I've got a '93 Chevy Cheyenne. I can't afford any leg room. I may try a couple of designs to utilize a portion of behind and under the bench-seat.
  • PoweredByDodge
    PoweredByDodge Posts: 4,185
    edited October 2002