advice on setup for a newbie to HT

Options
waxman
waxman Posts: 124
edited September 2002 in Speakers
Guys- I'm new to the whole quality speaker/HT/etc, and basically have recently stumbled and fell into what I hope is a decent low end quality HT setup (my prior setup was a pioneer dolby pro-logic setup driving some technics speakers, so anything sounds better). Anyway, my new setup is

CS-350LS - somewhat old school from what I've read here

PSW-150 - again, old school, has a 200 watt amp and a 10" woofer, which seems comparable to the current PSW-350

Rt-800i fronts

R10's surrounds

either a pioneer VSX-810 (or a VSX-43TX if I can scrounge!)

TV is a 50" pioneer rear projection

I'm looking for any and every comment or suggestion on my setup. Will I see a huge difference if I get the F/X300i or 500i for my surrounds to replace my R10's? Will my 350LS blend well with my RT800i's? Any comments on the PSW-150? There are very few items on center and the sub that I can find online b/c they are so old. Seems like most of you on the forum know what you are talking about, so please, experts discuss! Thanks in advance.

Chris
Post edited by waxman on

Comments

• trubluluc
    trubluluc Posts: 2,067
    edited September 2002
    Options
    Give us a little more info on the room all this machinery resides in.
    Where, in relationship to your sweet spot will the surrounds be?
    Personally not familiar with your center, but your front stage is good,(800's) and if your center doesn't match I would put the money there before getting other surrounds. If your sub is similar to a psw350 it should be decent for now.
    You can find cs400 centers for cheap now that people have caught the Lsi update fever.

-Luc
  • waxman
    edited September 2002
    Options