DIY Speaker Project

Options
zerosk8er
zerosk8er Posts: 36
edited October 2005 in DIY, Mods & Tweaks
I've been looking to upgrade my speakers since i have a Pioneer VSX-1015 as a receiver but only 2 Polk Audio R15's as mains. My previous receiver wasnt as good so it went well with the Polks. I've looked around and liked some Athena, JBL and Polk Audio speakers that I've seen. But I started thinking that i like lots of bass and want a pair of speakers than can (but probably won't) be used without a subwoofer and actually sound as if there is a small subwoofer being used. My parents own a pair of Accusound 12 inchers and they rule!! But it''s really hard to find something like that nowdays. I've decided that what I want is a pair of speakers that are 3-way, big woofer 10-15 inch with really good bass response and I don't want to spend 1000$ (I'm still a student so something around 400-500$ including wood to build enclosure etc. would be prefect). I plan on using them primarily for music without surrounds. I live in Ottawa and I found a store that sells components and suposedly also designs speakers. I need help with design, knowing how big or small to make the enclosure and maybe some suggestions on drivers and crossovers. I know there are programs out there that help with this but I dont feel like buying software unless it's really necessary. I haven't done this before and I know its a big step but I love to build stuff and am really good at trial and error. Also if you guys (and gals) think there are some decently priced speakers that meet my demand out there please tell me about them because I don't quite know what I'm getting into and might end up buying a pair in the end.

thanx and sorry for the length

-Alex
LIVE LOUD, ROCK HARD!!!
-Chronix Aggression
Post edited by zerosk8er on

Comments

• jcaut
    jcaut Posts: 1,849
    edited October 2005
    Options