I need help choosing a sub

north51
north51 Posts: 66
edited June 2002 in Speakers
Hello,

I have a question about choosing a sub for my home theatre.

I am new to home theatre and my setup so far is:

Harman Kardan 510 receiver (85 watts/channel)
Polk 800i fronts
Polk CS 245i centre
Polk f/x 300 surrounds

I am trying to decide what size subwoofer to buy. My room is 17'x22', and haven't set the system up yet so I am open to suggestions about the setup as well.
Post edited by north51 on

Comments

• GuitarheadCA
    GuitarheadCA Posts: 400
    edited June 2002
    Polk has a pretty nifty sub size calculator on this site, if you just feed it your room size and your main speakers. Of course, it'll only reccommend polk subs, so you may not want to view that as the final word.
  • north51
    edited June 2002
    Thanks guitarhead.

I checked out the sub calculator and it says I need a 450.

I read somewhere in the forum about subs that are on concrete not working well. My basement doesn't have a sub-floor and the carpet is sitting on concrete. Short of putting in a sub-floor, are there any other suggestions out there?
  • mantis
    mantis Posts: 17,032
    edited June 2002
    you need a 450 it sounds.
    Dan
    My personal quest is to save to world of bad audio, one thread at a time.
  • Dr. Spec
    Dr. Spec Posts: 3,780
    edited June 2002
    For the price of a PSW450, you'd be better off with an HSU VTF-2 or an SVS 25-31PCi. Both will dig much deeper and play somewhat louder than the Polk.

Although in defense of Polk, I never had any issues with the way Polk subs sound - I think they sound quite good, IMHO - they just don't dig deep enough - the 450 is rated to only 35Hz - OK, but not great. You will miss some of the really deep sub-30Hz stuff on some important and popular DVDs like U571, PM, Blade, Fight Club, etc.