advice on a system, just aquired sda-1c's

Options
OldSycamoreTree
OldSycamoreTree Posts: 70
edited July 2005 in Vintage Speakers
Greetings all, I am new to the polk speakers fold.
Just bought and hooked up some sda-1c's.

my receiver is a luxman r-115 but needs to visit the shop.
main cd player is CAL icon mk II but this also needs repair.

so I am powering the speakers with an onkyo a-8150 integrated amp with discrete output trans but still only 60 watts.
The backup cd player is a denon dcd 910 quite outdated and the flaws are heard with the quality speakers.

My question is , would it be best to have the cal icon mk II fixed by a good shop, or get a better cd player, or run the denon into a high quality dac system to warm the sound?
The cal cost me near 800 bucks new if I recall- and it was great sounding running into the luxman that powered paradigm 7se's.
So I am partial to having it refurbished but i have been out of the audio loop for 12 years so i don't know what may be available for a decent price.

I had to get the sda-1c's even knowing that it would lead to an entire system upgrade.

What sort of speaker cables to the sda-1c perform best with?:)
Post edited by OldSycamoreTree on

Comments

• RuSsMaN
    RuSsMaN Posts: 17,987
    edited June 2005
    Options
    Welcome Woody.

I'd get an estimate on the CAL, if possible, then we can better assist you with the fix it / buy something else paradigm.

The Lux 115 is a GREAT, somewhat Legendary receiver, but I'd throw something with a little more power / headroom on the 1c's to help them shine. Good news is, that Lux has preouts, so you only need to go amp shopping first. Three to Five Franklins should put you inline with a nice, high current amp. I'd go at least 120/ch, and start with names like Adcom, Anthem, Rotel, Acurus, Carver, B&K, Audiosource, NAD and the like.