Monitor 7 rebuild ?

Options
dkg999
dkg999 Posts: 5,647
edited March 2005 in Vintage Speakers
I picked up a set of Monitor 7's (Labelled on back as Monitor Series 2 and a "M7" preceding the serial #) that are in great shape as far as SQ, and seem to be pretty low mileage. They have the SL2500 tweeter (foam ring). I was cruising a flea market in Rockford IL and the guy had just hauled these in from a storage unit auction and I grabbed them for a price that was less than I usually spend at McDonalds to feed me and my three daughters! Now the problem, the cabinets have lots of moisture damage on the outside, bubbling the MDF and cratering the oak veneer covering, and also pushing open the miter joints. Other than a little surface rust on the driver mounting screws, the front and rear panels are mint. This looks like a pretty simple job (and I have lots of woodworking experience) to separate the fronts and backs from the MDF sides and build and veneer new MDF side panels to match the design of the originals. The grill fronts are in mint shape except for one hole in the grill cloth. Has anyone ever taken a set of these apart? Any advice on getting the front and rear panels separated from the sides?

And ..... I have these running now, powered by a restored Marantz 2265 and they sound fantastic!
DKG999
HT System: LSi9, LSiCx2, LSiFX, LSi7, SVS 20-39 PC+, B&K 507.s2 AVR, B&K Ref 125.2, Tripplite LCR-2400, Cambridge 650BD, Signal Cable PC/SC, BJC IC, Samsung 55" LED

Music System: Magnepan 1.6QR, SVS SB12+, ARC pre, Parasound HCA1500 vertically bi-amped, Jolida CDP, Pro-Ject RM5.1SE TT, Pro-Ject TubeBox SE phono pre, SBT, PS Audio DLIII DAC
Post edited by dkg999 on

Comments

• nadams
    nadams Posts: 5,877
    edited March 2005
    Options