Tell me about passive radiators, pro and con

Options
methenyiac
methenyiac Posts: 5
edited February 2005 in Vintage Speakers
I was enjoying my Polk RTA 12 speakers tonight and I began wondering what technical facts and fancy there are to know about its passive radiator woofers. Normally my attention is captured by their tweeters' wonderful performance, but tonight I noticed how well the bottom cabinet was doing its job. No, it didn't go as low or as loud as the KEF 104.2s standing next to them, but the difference wasn't extreme, by my senses.

All this bass from a passive drumhead that magnifies the bass from a pair of six-inchers? If this is such an effective idea,why don't more speaker manufacturers use it? Size, I'd guess. There are some of the largest woofers I see in high-end audio, outside subwoofers.

I'm new to the Polk world, and not that grounded in the engineering. But if someone wants to expound on this, I'm all eyes... the Polks have my ears.
So little time, so many speakers!
Post edited by methenyiac on

Comments

• RuSsMaN
    RuSsMaN Posts: 17,987
    edited February 2005
    Options
    You still see some high-end speakers (and subwoofers) using passive radiators, but high-end is the key.

Why? Most manufacturers in todays market view a passive radiator as an 'expensive port'. We all know cost $ rule, in todays mass-market audio world. I personally, think they offer a 'best of both worlds' scenario, between Acoustic Suspension, and Ported enclosures.

PR's (usually) offer a nice, articulate bass, with a very gradual roll off below the resonant frequency, as acoustic suspension designs do (around 6db/octave), but still remain 'easier' to drive, without having to power big active woofers, with large motor structures.