Amplification for Home Theater - Semi-Newbie Question

Ok, I'm not an audio newbie but I haven't done any serious hookups since before multi-channel audio became a thing.

Before we start, let me say that a link to a URL where I can do some serious reading on setting up a modern AV system would be just fine, but randomly googling seems like it might be counterproductive (maybe not, and feel free to tell me so).

Here's my question - let's say I want to get some serious juice running in order to get the best out of my speakers. I've got Monitor 70 Series II in the front, Monitor 40 in the rear... which I know are "entry level" in the audiophile world... but I don't have the juice to run them. My AVR is a Yamaha with 100WPC, and frankly I know I'm not getting the best out of my system.

Now in the olden days, I would have a tuner/receiver... and pipe left and right into an equalizer, and then into an amplifier (often with TUBES in it), and then out to the speakers. How does that translate into the HDMI/Optical digital world with 7 channels? Are there... digital amps? My Yamaha doesn't have preamp out, and it seems to have AV line level outs but only left and right analogue. How does the center and surrounds get amped?

Or is the solution to invest in a (very expensive) beefier AVR?

A quick nudge in the right direction would be appreciated. Thanks!
Home Theater:
Yamaha RX-V377 AVR
Polk Monitor 70 Series II (Front)
Polk Monitor 15C (Center)
Polk Monitor 40 (Rear)
Polk PSW-110 (Sub)
LG 60" Plasma (6650)

Comments

• FestYboy
    FestYboy Posts: 3,861
    A better AVR will certainly help, but it doesn't have to be expensive. Ideally, you get a newer AVR with pre outs and run into a separate 5 channel amp like a Rotel. Any extra channels can easily be handled by the AVR. If you shop around, both could be had for under a grand. Don't be afraid of used...
  • rooftop59
    rooftop59 Posts: 7,952