RCA Cables

I've just built new speaker cables and jumpers using 12 ga OFC and Sewell Strike banana plugs. I really like these plugs, by the way. Very easy to install and they have great contact with the wire. But that's off topic. I want to upgrade my RCA cables and I've found some reasonably priced interconnects with both solid cores and some with wire strand cores. Can I get some opinions from the gallery about which is the better alternative? My thinking is the strand wire is probably best but I'm no Electrical Engineer.

Answers

• pitdogg2
    pitdogg2 Posts: 24,477
    edited September 2018
    Both are used in the real world. your preference to be honest. Audioquest built their business on solid wire. Most others use a small stranded wire, some others use different wire diameters within the same jacket.
  • Has there been any testing that would indicate one's better than the other?
  • gmcman
    gmcman Posts: 1,739
    Most of the RCA cables I've used have been pretty much a larger single center conductor, or maybe a couple small conductors...but I can't say I've seen many that have a number of fine strands for the center conductor.

Really depends on your gear as well. The more revealing your system is, the more you are likely going to hear the difference.

What is your budget and how many cables are you looking for?
  • mlistens03
    mlistens03 Posts: 2,767
    All the generic IC's I've seen have tiny, tiny strands of wire, although those are generic, and that's not what we are talking about.
  • gmcman wrote: »
    Most of the RCA cables I've used have been pretty much a larger single center conductor, or maybe a couple small conductors...but I can't say I've seen many that have a number of fine strands for the center conductor.

Really depends on your gear as well. The more revealing your system is, the more you are likely going to hear the difference.

What is your budget and how many cables are you looking for?